Governance Panel Structure

A robust and transparent governance framework has been established for SQIDEP.

SQIDEP Governance Panel (GP)

The SQIDEP Governance Panel (GP) consists of independent, experienced professionals and will oversee the process to ensure probity, equity and dispute resolution, where necessary.

GP members include: 

Andrew Swindells - Chair of GP

GP Chair

Mr Andrew Swindells (BA, LLB, LLM)

Experience as Executive Director of a Public Company, Business Consultant, Barrister, Sessional member QCAT & CCT, Victoria Mining Warden, Counsel Assisting and Executive Legal Officer Crime & Misconduct Commission, and dispute resolution/mediation expert.

Professor Veeriah Jegatheesan (Jega)

GP Secretary

Professor Veeriah Jegatheesan (Jega) (B.Sc.Eng. Hons, M.Eng., PhD)

Experienced academic and water/ wastewater/ resource recovery/ novel & hybrid technologies expert, Director Water Effective Technologies & Tools Centre RMIT, and former consultant to Sydney Water.

photo blank profile

GP Panel Member

Ms Kaia Hodge (B.Sc.Hons, M.Env.St., Grad.Dip.Mngmt)

Director Regulatory Innovation, Natural Resources Access Regulator (NSW), senior roles with Sydney Water, Former Chair of Water Services Assoc Adaptive Planning and Integrated Water Management Network, Board member on Hawkesbury Nepean Catchment Mngmt Trust.

pdfSQIDEP Governance Panel Charter

pdfStormwater Australia Governance Policy and Procedure

pdfDispute Resolution Policy and Procedure


SQIDEP Independent Evaluation Panel (IEP)

SQIDEP applications/submissions will be received by Stormwater Australia via This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. 

Submissions will be independently assessed by two (2) Independent Evaluators (IEs) from the SQIDEP Independent Evaluation Panel (IEP) for verification of Claims. Independent Evaluators will be selected based on their responses to the Expression of Interest (EOI), the submitted technology and relevant selection criteria including disclosure of conflicts of interest.

pdfSQIDEP Evaluators Selection Procedure

The Independent Evaluators (IEs) will undertake their reviews separately, and then confer to provide a joint evaluation. Non-conformances with SQIDEP and issues with performance claims will be discussed with the Applicant/Claimant prior to finalisation of issuing of a Verification Certificate.

The submitted Detailed Performance Report (DPR) and Verification Certificate (VC) will become publicly available on the Stormwater Australia website, from that time. 

Membership of the Panel is invited by a public Expression of Interest (EOI).

Stormwater Australia is currently seeking Expressions of Interest (EOI) from suitably qualified professionals to be included on the Stormwater Australia Stormwater Quality Improvement Device Evaluation Protocol (SQIDEP) Independent Evaluation/Auditors Panel (IEP).

Existing members of the IEP are encouraged to reapply to ensure Stormwater Australia has the most up to date information of the current individuals and confidential documentation.

Please see the below link for the current advertised EOI.

 (Due to the extreme weather events occurring now on the East Coast of Australia, applications will be accepted up until 31st March 2022)


Current IEP Members include:

Chris Beardshaw

Afflux Consulting Pty Ltd

Andrew Allan

Afflux Consulting Pty Ltd

Damian McCann

Australian Wetlands Consulting

Dr Mark Bayley

Australian Wetlands Consulting

Shaun Leinster

Design Flow Consulting Pty Ltd

Dr Robin Allison

Design Flow Consulting Pty Ltd

Adam Joyner

NSW Department of Finance, Service & Innovation - Manly Hydraulics Laboratory

Andrew Judge

NSW Department of Finance, Service & Innovation - Manly Hydraulics Laboratory

Rod Wiese

Wiese Insight Pty Ltd

Dr Ricky Kwan


Mark Liebman

Sustainability Workshop Pty Ltd


SQIDEP Technical Review Panel (TRP)

A SQIDEP Technical Review Panel (TRP) has been formed to regularly assess the criteria of SQIDEP and emerging science, research and industry findings to improve the outcomes of the SQIDEP and confidence in environmental outcomes of stormwater technologies.

The TRP replaces the previous SQID Advisory Committee.

Membership of the Panel is invited by a  public Expression of Interest (EOI) when published.

Current TRP Member organisations include:

  • South Australian Environmental Protection Agency
  • Queensland Department of Environment and Science
  • Swinburne University - Assoc. Prof. Monzur Imteaz, Head, Water & Environmental Engineering Group
  • UNSW
  • University of the Sunshine Coast - Jane-Louise Lampard (Secretary)
  • Stormwater and Infrastructure Asset Management Solutions
  • WaterNSW
  • Brisbane City Council - Mark Gibson (Chair)


For more information on the above, please email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. at Stormwater Australia.